Movie Reviews – Khumba

“Hi, my name is Amelia” She says whileHow-To-Write-A-Film-Movie-Review-Paper.png standing up in a circle of chairs in a random
basement with drably dressed people all paying rapt attention to her “and I’m a movie and series addict”

Ok, so I have never actually done that scene described above. But I really am a movie and series addict (Maybe this is my moment of doing that?), I spend a hang of a lot of time watching a silly little TV screen (or sometimes a giant cinema screen, not often though) watching other people’s imaginations coming to life. Normally there is some fairly good music involved too, and if I’m lucky, some decent animation.

critic-clipart-Movie-clip-art.jpg

Recently I’ve been thinking though that maybe it would be an idea to become a movie critic. Ok, anyone can be a critic, but maybe I can just give a brief review of movies and series I watch, possibly a bit of the story-line (but no spoilers), and rate them. Yes that’s right, a movie review. What do you think?

Well, I’m going to try. Because I think some movies out there are really worth sharing. And some, well some movies that I’ve watched, I really would have appreciated if someone had said to me what a terrible movie it is. So, I’ll sometimes share my personal opinion of these with you. Starting with one I’ve just finished watching…….

 

khumba.jpg

 

KHUMBA 

This is a South African made animated movie, and after watching Zambezia a few months ago, I’m really quite keen to see what other amazing animations South Africa can produce. So I was delighted, and not at all disappointed with watching Khumba. Its the story of a zebra with only half of his body having stripes (based on the Quaga, a now extinct species in Africa which was half striped zebras) who is grows up in a drought and after being picked on by all the the zebras in the herd for being a half zebra, he goes in search of a magical waterhole which he believes will give him all the stripes he’s supposed to have. Along the way he finds his true self, meets lots of new friends, a few enemies, and amazing scenery.  (ok, this is my first review, and I very nearly put a spoiler there, I have to double check my work before I publish it….)

The African music was incredible. My favorite characters was the herd of Springboks who all had Afrikaans accents and thought they were a rugby team (its hilarious). The animation was so well done, I don’t think Hollywood could even make it better. The story-line sweet. This is definitely a family friendly movie, but adults will still find it fun. I’m not too sure if any non-South Africans will pick up all the puns (“we’re not migrating, we’re immigrating” “Hey bru, lets scrum”), but with a British ostrich, Australian bunny, and angry half blind leopard, people from around the globe will enjoy this movie.

I give it 5 stars as far as animated movies go.


Leave a Reply

