My Friends are my Superheroes 

Proverbs 17:17 A true friend shows love at all times, And is a brother who is born for times of distress.

Who is your best friend? Or BFFE?

Throughout my life I have had many friends. Some of my childhood friends I am still friends with, some of my friends that I’m close to are fairly new. Some are my age, some much younger or much older.

Do I have a best friend? Actually no! I sometimes state that a person is like my best friend because I am very fond of them. But I realized when I was about 12 that you really cannot have another human being as your best friend. Because it has always been that the friends I viewed as my closest and best friends had another person as their “bestie”. And if that was the case, where would that leave me? The annoying third wheel.

So I have many friends, friends whom I truly love. Friends whom I would kill for or die for. Guys and girls, some as young as 6 years old, some as old as 80. Some who live down the road from me, some who live in Thailand, USA or England. Some whom I have personally had many fun experiences with, and some whom I almost purely made friends with over a long distance and look forwards to meeting them in person in the future.

One thing is for sure, why would anyone wish to limit themselves to one person in the 8 billion humans on earth to be friends with?

Proverbs 18:24 “…But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.”

My friends are all most memorable and I look back on the times we have spent together with such fondness. From the friend who is stuck in a hospital bed today with a mouth operation, to the friend who snuck onto a golf course with me just for the fun of exploring a new place. From the friend who used to come horse riding with me, to the one who has a mutual love of beadwork. From the friends who share a love of watching certain tv series (Doctor Who and others) to the friend who is always there when I need a shoulder to cry on. And I’m not forgetting the friend who’s always amped up for a party.

I may be an only child, but that certainly does not mean I am lonely. Sometimes I am alone, and sometimes I feel lonely for a short time, we are all human and every now and again we get to feeling down for a bit. But I have the best group of friends in the world, so I will never limit them or myself again  by saying one in particular is my BFFE. I also know that my friends have stood by me through the toughest of times and through some of the best of times, and for that I am ever grateful. I just hope that in some way or another, I can give back to those incredible people some love and help and support like they have for me.

Thank you for being my friend.

Proverbs 27:17 As iron sharpens iron, So one man sharpens his friend.

Leave a Reply

