Adams Mission Kingdom Hall Build

As you may know, I am involved in volunteering my time and energy and work on Kingdom Hall construction.

What this means is that I go and work my butt off on a building site, for free, because I enjoy it and I feel its a way of my showing love for my neighbour.

Recently however I got the privilege to work along with many of my friends on a local kingdom hall, in Adams Mission, which is just around the corner. The unusual part for me and many of my friends is that we got to work on this particular hall from the day they broke ground all the way until it was handed over and ready to use! You see, normally we each have our teams that we work with and only do one weekend of the whole build, some are there for the roofing weekend, others for the bricking, some for the day they throw the concrete slab, and still others for the painting.

In all it took about 12 weeks to complete. I first arrived on site about a week after they cleared the brush and levelled the ground in the last week of September, and I was honoured to be there in the first week of December when all the chairs where in and we were just doing the last bit of painting touch ups.

These halls are built all by volunteers and donations. Pretty impressive really.

Because I have been on many builds, I have taken many of the regular types of photos of the build. But with Adams Mission, my goal was to take “time lapse” style photos and to take unusual photos. So, without further explanation, today’s blog post is more of a photo blog. The following pictures are what I took and I have thrown in a few of my friends’ photos (I’ll credit you, promise 🙂 )…….

Progression of the hall

Adams Mission (26)
IMG_9068 Day one, about to start digging trenches for the foundation. (Photo taken by GnatWorx Photography)
Adams Mission (1)
Photo by GnatWorx Photography. Putting in the fence.
Adams Mission (24)
The slab ready, and bricks prepared for the very busy next stage….
Adams Mission (25)
Another angle
Adams Mission (21)
3 courses up, but its not quite level….
A week later and it has grown!
A week later and it has grown!

Adams Mission (18)

Adams Mission (16)
Retainer wall going up and trenches being dug. This was a particularly brutally hot day. We all suffered!!!
Another week and a half and now there is a roof and a retainer wall.
Another week and a half and now there is a roof and a retainer wall.
Tiling where the bathrooms are going to be. This took about 3 hours to be tiles. I'm telling you, this boet is skilled!
Tiling where the bathrooms are going to be. This took about 3 hours to be tiles. I’m telling you, this boet is skilled!
Ceilings going up.
Ceilings going up.
Putting in the steel for the dry walling for the bathrooms.
Putting in the steel for the dry walling for the bathrooms.

Adams Mission (3)

Ta Da! The hall is nearly finnished now. Even the signs are up....
Ta Da! The hall is nearly finnished now. Even the signs are up….
Last day on site.
Last day on site.
Zulu sign board saying
Zulu sign board saying “Kingdom hall of Jehovah’s Witnesses”

Some cool perspectives and amazing people

I loved seeing the plans which plainly stated
I loved seeing the plans which plainly stated “IF IN DOUBT – ASK!”
This 3 year old really wanted in on the action. Doing
This 3 year old really wanted in on the action.
Doing “joining”
This adorable redhead really wanted to help out with the trenches.
This adorable redhead really wanted to help out with the trenches.
An incredible friend of mine showing some major muscle
An incredible friend of mine showing some major muscle
Adams Mission (6)
My hard hat. It used to say “GANGA” which is Zulu for mischievous. Because well, I am a tad mischievous and the zulu brothers and sisters used to call me that. But, GANGA now apparently has got another meaning, weed/dagga/that stuff people smoke. So I had to redecorate.

Adams Mission (5)

The sand sifter
The sand sifter
Another of my lovely friends flexing her muscles
Another of my lovely friends flexing her muscles
Lunch time
Lunch time
I'm telling you, with this kind of meal, who can possibly not be ready to work?
I’m telling you, with this kind of meal, who can possibly not be ready to work?
Painting is done, cornice is up, and now even the big clock is mounted.
Painting is done, cornice is up, and now even the big clock is mounted.
The sign on the front wall. Last picture I took at Adams Mission.
The sign on the front wall. Last picture I took at Adams Mission.

And that, ladies and gents is a grand tour of the stunning Adams Mission Kingdom Hall build from my perspective.

If you want to know more about why we do this, please go over to WWW.JW.ORG and look under the “about us” tab, go to activities and construction projects.

Until next time, over and out.

Leave a Reply

